Simple Logger

Developer topics relating to software that logs data from ECUs

Moderator: Freon

Postby west_minist » Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:06 pm

ok. The prob. is the VTIME. It cannot = 0.

Anything >=1 works.

TIME RPM LOAD TPS MRP IGN AFR KNK SPD MAF EGT IAM */

3.288 1239 0.00 0.00 -18.6 16 0.00 0.0 0.0 16.94 392 0

The only problem is that the TPS, AFR, KNK and the others are not working.

Tari works, but does not have afr support yet.
Attachments
log.txt
(31 KiB) Downloaded 1280 times
west_minist
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Barbados

Postby Visceral » Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:11 am

The log makes it easier...

You have an older ECU. What is it from?

If you look at the response message from the initial query:
Code: Select all
80 F0 10 29 FF A1 10  9
16  4 24  7  5
61 C4 EA  0  2  A FC 0 0 0
 0 70 CE 64 F8 B8 10 0 0 E0
 0  0  0  0  0 DC  0 0 0 80
 0  0 61

The length (4th byte, 29) is 16 smaller than that in the program expects (39). Your ECU never responds with the extra 16 bytes, so the program would wait forever. An enhancement would be for the software to actually interpret the length in the response message.

Anyhow, unfortunately, it doesn't look like your ECU supports polling of the Air Fuel Ratio based on the documentation ("byte 16" == 0, it's the 21st listed above).
Last edited by Visceral on Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Visceral
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:21 am

Postby west_minist » Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:16 am

Ok.

My ECU came out in 98+ till 2000+.

I will see if the AFR is supported when Tari offers it.

Thanks.
west_minist
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Barbados

Postby Visceral » Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:34 am

I don't think your ECU supports polling AFR directly -- or, if it does, it's undocumented and I don't know where to get it from.

As a substitute, you could try polling Front O2 Sensor #1 voltage, which it does look like your ECU supports.

Code: Select all
- Front O2 Sensor #1 ---------------------------------------
16 bit value
P0x016 = high byte
P0x017 = low byte

Multiply value by 0.005 to get voltage


The voltage will be lower for lean conditions, higher for rich ones. Stoic (14.7) will be at 0.5 volts.
Visceral
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:21 am

Postby west_minist » Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:00 pm

Ok. I will try that and see.

Edited: I was just review my Tari log and realised that the sensor always read 0v.

so trying to get the voltage maybe useless.
west_minist
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Barbados

Postby Visceral » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:40 pm

I don't know what the Tari software does, I can't see the source...

Did you try modifying the code posted here to poll the voltage? If you need help, let me know and I can make the changes this weekend.
Visceral
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:21 am

Postby west_minist » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:58 pm

To be honest, I can do it, but I do not know if anyt problems will arise.

So nif nyou can do it, I will be very thankful.

I am currently working on a big project with cisco IP Telephony convergences that have me very busy.
west_minist
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Barbados

risky?

Postby cake337 » Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:13 pm

bofh wrote: I would say go from scratch.


:wink: But is that not a bit risky?
cake337
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:08 pm

Postby west_minist » Sun Nov 27, 2005 7:23 pm

I think th problem after further logging and the car behaviour, my o2 sensor is going.

I will be replacing it w/ the LC1 + XD-1.
west_minist
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Barbados

Re: Java always suffers that misconception

Postby chrisw » Thu May 18, 2006 7:40 pm

ll wrote:Now if you wonder why pretty much every major corporation uses a VM based language like Java or MS .NET it is because they deal with a lot of the hassle C/C++ guys used to, so you get to write more application and less framework.

Now if some portion of the code is too slow in Java there is always the option of JNI so you can have your cake and eat it too, but I don't think we'll have a performance requirment anywhere near what would necessitate that. The application I have running currently is just as fast and a lot more functional than anything else I've seen posted here.

I welcome any other thoughts on this platform debate.


http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page

open source .NET

supports
C#, Java, python, etc...
chrisw
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:09 pm

Re: Simple Logger

Postby dritysanchez » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:44 pm

Any OBD2 example?
dritysanchez
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Kraków

Previous

Return to Data Logging Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests