ecuEdit v2.4 - ECU Tuning & Logging solution

Developer topics relating to software that provides a tuning UI to alter ECU code and data

Moderator: Freon

Postby crazymikie » Tue Jan 03, 2006 2:08 pm

I interpreted the turbo dynamics as:

<map name="Turbo Dynamics (Continuous)" type="2">
<rows count="9" offset="#2B4D9" power="2" format="%.2f" func_2val="([byte0]-128)+([byte1]/256/256)" func_val2="" caption="Boost Error" mul="#FFFF" desc="Boost Error %"/>
<data offset="#2B4ED" power="2" format="%.2f" func_2val="([byte0]-50)+([byte1]/256/256)" func_val2="" caption="Wastegate Correction Percentage" color_dir="0" mul="#FFFF" desc="WG Correction %"/>
</map>
<map name="Turbo Dynamics (Burst)" type="2">
<rows count="9" offset="#2B4FF" power="2" format="%.2f" func_2val="([byte0]-128)+([byte1]/256/256)" func_val2="" caption="Boost Error" mul="#FFFF" desc="Boost Error %"/>
<data offset="#2B513" power="2" format="%.2f" func_2val="([byte0]-50)+([byte1]/256/256)" func_val2="" caption="Wastegate Correction Percentage" color_dir="0" mul="#FFFF" desc="WG Correction %"/>
</map>
crazymikie
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Watertown, MA

Postby Kha0S » Tue Jan 03, 2006 2:09 pm

Jeramie wrote:this was fixed in the last realease of ecuEdit. Turbo dynamics now displays properly.


Which version? Using [value] for my above mappings with my 900C ECU resulted in bad endianness, with 1.1.0.25.
Kha0S
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:30 pm
Location: MY02 USDM WRX / Nashua, NH

Postby Jeramie » Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:17 pm

Thats the version of ecuedit I'm using with my 04 wrx image. No problems. :?:
Jeramie
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Quakertown, PA

Postby NeverLies » Wed Jan 04, 2006 8:11 am

I also have some problems with 2 bytes data :s

IE: I have at 0x2A309 these 2 bytes : 4C CD (in this order), so this value should be 19661 in decimal.

If I use this formula (just to check all):
[byte1], value is : 52480 (0xCD00)
[byte0], value is : 76 (0x4C)

So in order to get decimal value of 0x4CCD I have to write : [byte1]/256 + [byte0]*256

Is this the normal behaviour ?
NeverLies
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 1:49 am

Postby Xmicho » Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:46 pm

<map name="Turbo Dynamics (Continuous)" type="2">
<rows count="9" offset="#2B4D9" power="2" format="%.2f" func_2val="([byte0]-128)+([byte1]/256/256)" func_val2="" caption="Boost Error" mul="#FFFF" desc="Boost Error %"/>

I'm not the best at mathematics but isn't

([byte0]-128)+([byte1]/256/256)

the same as

([byte0]-128+([byte1]) because /256/256 =/1?

Does anyone have a conversion factor that has worked? HELP![/quote]
Xmicho
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 5:16 am
Location: Singapore

Postby cdvma » Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:44 pm

Order of operations

x/256/256 is not x/1 but rather it is x/65535.
cdvma
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Roch. Inst. of Tech.

Postby cboles » Sat Jan 07, 2006 11:08 am

/65536

:)
cboles
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby cdvma » Sat Jan 07, 2006 1:48 pm

My number system starts at zero equaling one! :lol:
cdvma
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Roch. Inst. of Tech.

Postby cboles » Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:01 pm

... then /256/256 == /66048 ???
cboles
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby Spiider » Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:25 pm

cdvma wrote:My number system starts at zero equaling one! :lol:


My number system only has zero's and ones....there are 256 kinds of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.
Spiider
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:16 pm

Postby cdvma » Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:26 pm

Spiider wrote:
cdvma wrote:My number system starts at zero equaling one! :lol:


My number system only has zero's and ones....there are 256 kinds of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.


There are only 10 kinds of people in this world: those that understand binary and those who don't. ;)
cdvma
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Roch. Inst. of Tech.

Postby Spiider » Sat Jan 07, 2006 6:21 pm

I guess I'm just stuck in 8 bit.....thats what I get for playing around with PIC mcu's all the time.
Spiider
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:16 pm

Postby cdvma » Sun Jan 08, 2006 11:02 am

MPLAB is open in the background for my latest project :)
cdvma
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Roch. Inst. of Tech.

Postby Navybluesubaru » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:50 pm

"Cant find map description for A4SGA00C" is what I get when I attempt to open my ECU image. This is on a 2002 wrx, 5MT. What am I doing wrong? ecuExplorer says that my ecu is "AF422". Do I have some odd ECU or something?

Jeff
Attachments
2002WRX5MT.zip
My Image
(84.54 KiB) Downloaded 1079 times
Navybluesubaru
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville

Postby Xmicho » Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:24 pm

"Cant find map description for A4SGA00C" is what I get when I attempt to open my ECU image. This is on a 2002 wrx, 5MT. What am I doing wrong? ecuExplorer says that my ecu is "AF422". Do I have some odd ECU or something?"

I assume you are using ecuedit. I had the same problem. What I did was to copy the xml definition that comes with ecuedit and paste it under the heading that is created for your ecu when you first try to open it. Then once you get the maps open, you can use the hex viewer to look for the proper offsets assuming the maps open with funny values. Someone more experienced than me would have a better idea, I guess.

As for the 65536 vs 65535 vs 65025, thanks guys, better to have 3 possibilities than none at all.
Xmicho
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 5:16 am
Location: Singapore

PreviousNext

Return to Tuning Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests