ECUFlash/Enginuity tuning for 03' WRX

Developer topics relating to software that provides a tuning UI to alter ECU code and data

Moderator: Freon

ECUFlash/Enginuity tuning for 03' WRX

Postby ST » Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:16 am

I've had a lot of tuning experience w/ my own Evo IX's utilizing ECUFLASH, so after my friend asked me to help him on his 2003 WRX (A4TC101L), I did a lot of research into the various openecu tuning software available out there (ecuflash/enginuity/ecuedit/etc.), before embarking on this endeavor. Thus far, things seem to be working okay w/ Enginuity, but I still have a question (that the various FAQs don't cover):

After extracting the stock rom from the WRX ECU, i performed an xmlwrite for both ECUFLASH and ENGINUITY. How do I integrate these xml defs into these programs, since Enginuity comes w/ its own XML defs, and ECUFlash is missing lots of defs in the WRXBASE.XML file?
ST

Postby merchgod » Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:43 am

Check out the latest version of Ecuflash 1.29 which adds a lot more Subaru definitions.

To use different definitions with Enginuity, use the Ecu Definition Manager which is located in the Edit menu in Enginuity. Click on "Add" to add the definition file. Click on "Move up" to move it to the top of the list. Enginuity will check the definitions files from this list, in order, from top to bottom until it finds the definition that matches your rom.
merchgod

Postby ST » Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:18 pm

merchgod wrote:Check out the latest version of Ecuflash 1.29 which adds a lot more Subaru definitions.

To use different definitions with Enginuity, use the Ecu Definition Manager which is located in the Edit menu in Enginuity. Click on "Add" to add the definition file. Click on "Move up" to move it to the top of the list. Enginuity will check the definitions files from this list, in order, from top to bottom until it finds the definition that matches your rom.

thanks for the tip on enginuity..i'll try it