Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 4/5/6/7/8/9 EvoScan Project

Developer topics relating to software that logs data from ECUs

Moderator: Freon

Postby YP » Tue May 09, 2006 10:05 am

Evo4Mad wrote:
Repeated retrieving info for data logging
13 scantool scopemeter verified
02 response scopemeter verified
1A scantool scopemeter verified
00 response scopemeter verified
3A scantool scopemeter verified
5C response scopemeter verified
17 scantool scopemeter verified
23 response scopemeter verified

MUT-II Showed these on the screen at the time:
11 O2 sensor 39 mV
12 Air flow sensor output 0 Hz
13 Intake temperature sensor output 43 °C
14 Throttle position sensor output 684 or 702 mV



Look at the address table here http://mmcdlogger.sourceforge.net - most of addresses acceptable for MMC OBD2 :wink:
User avatar
YP
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:41 am

Postby Evo4Mad » Wed May 10, 2006 2:07 am

Thanks, yeah thats exactly the page i just attached to my last post.
Evo4Mad
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby Evo4Mad » Wed May 10, 2006 2:11 am

My laptop can read the ecu data packets 100% no problem.

But the car is not as forgiving on the 5% baud difference when receiving the requests. The car is receiving incorrect packets approx as you mentioned 30% of the time.

How do I build an electronic circuit to get more perfect 15625 baud? or do you know of any really cheap cables i can buy that support 15625 baud?
Evo4Mad
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby noogles » Thu May 11, 2006 9:55 am

So your Really Cooking with this Logger, Any idea when you might reelease something for rothers to try and comment on?
noogles
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:07 pm

Postby cboles » Thu May 11, 2006 11:52 am

hmmm. How about an OpenPort cable?

:)

Evo4Mad wrote:My laptop can read the ecu data packets 100% no problem.

But the car is not as forgiving on the 5% baud difference when receiving the requests. The car is receiving incorrect packets approx as you mentioned 30% of the time.

How do I build an electronic circuit to get more perfect 15625 baud? or do you know of any really cheap cables i can buy that support 15625 baud?
cboles
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby YP » Thu May 11, 2006 12:22 pm

cboles wrote:hmmm. How about an OpenPort cable?

:)



Problem to start FTDI in 5 bps. But it's a question of "art of programming" :) . If you know how, please help.
User avatar
YP
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:41 am

Postby cboles » Thu May 11, 2006 1:45 pm

You can do it with the OpenPort 1.3M cable easily with the VCP, without even using the "bit bang mode" of the FTD2XX drivers (which would also work). The cable has swap-able K and L lines, via the RTS line. The L line uses DTR. So you can swap the lines, signal at 5Hz using PC timing and DTR, then swap back and do the higher baud rate stuff.

Colby
cboles
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby YP » Thu May 11, 2006 11:27 pm

cboles wrote:You can do it with the OpenPort 1.3M cable easily with the VCP, without even using the "bit bang mode" of the FTD2XX drivers (which would also work). The cable has swap-able K and L lines, via the RTS line. The L line uses DTR. So you can swap the lines, signal at 5Hz using PC timing and DTR, then swap back and do the higher baud rate stuff.

Colby


It's not useable for Mitsubishi's because Init procedure requires driving L line without driving K line and L line must be always Low during data exchange on 15625 bps. :(
If I understand in 1.3M when L line low - K line low too.
User avatar
YP
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:41 am

Postby cboles » Fri May 12, 2006 12:54 am

The L and K line are independent. K is connected to 'TX' and L is connected to 'DTR'. The state of 'RTS' allows you to swap the connection. Are you saying you need 5Hz on L? That's easy - just signal at 5Hz on L using DTR, then talk at 15625baud on K (TX)...
cboles
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby YP » Fri May 12, 2006 3:09 am

cboles wrote:The L and K line are independent. K is connected to 'TX' and L is connected to 'DTR'. The state of 'RTS' allows you to swap the connection. Are you saying you need 5Hz on L? That's easy - just signal at 5Hz on L using DTR, then talk at 15625baud on K (TX)...


Hmm,

when COMPORT,SETRTS
TX,RX <-> LLINE
DTR ->KLINE
when COMPORT,CLRRTS
TX,RX <-> KLINE
DTR -> LLINE

It's right?
And RTS apply +16V to VPP pin?

Schematics would solve much questions :) .
User avatar
YP
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:41 am

Postby Evo4Mad » Sat May 13, 2006 12:56 am

Hitokiri wrote:The main piece of software for subaru select protocol has been released open source.

It would be nice to have your EVO logger and the subaru logger on the same product, and it might be wasier for you to write some code in this software rather than do your own from scratch.

http://www.tari.co.za/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaB ... 1142849753

check it out. It will already have all the storage and display done for you, you'll just have to make an option to modity the data collection for the evo init sequences and baud rate changes.


Making large changes to the c++ code is too time consuming for me, and I only have VS2002/2003 and VS2005 installed.

I would rather do a data logger specific for the Evo's and then I can spend all my time just on making an awesome user interface for the users, It will be a fairly generic UI so anyone will be able to add their own protocols.
Evo4Mad
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby thekuai » Sat May 13, 2006 9:58 pm

so any working loggers for the openport 1.3M cable yet? im willing to beta test!
thekuai
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 11:44 pm

Postby Evo4Mad » Sun May 14, 2006 3:23 am

thekuai wrote:so any working loggers for the openport 1.3M cable yet? im willing to beta test!


Sorry, I don't have any of those USB chip cables (OpenPort 1.x) to test with.

I will include FTDI USB to Serial chip (OpenPort 1.x) support for sure if i can get my hands on one.

If anyone has a spare one they would like to send me for free, feel free to PM me.
Evo4Mad
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby Evo4Mad » Sun May 14, 2006 3:31 am

I could probably build my own Openport cable with a FTDI USB to serial adapter $15US and just using the RS232 Optoisolator circuit I already bought for £9 from www.ecufix.com
Last edited by Evo4Mad on Sun May 14, 2006 3:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Evo4Mad
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby Evo4Mad » Sun May 14, 2006 3:39 am

I found the com port stuff seemed to hang the com port thread for longer than 6seconds anyhow. eek.

cboles wrote:The L and K line are independent. K is connected to 'TX' and L is connected to 'DTR'. The state of 'RTS' allows you to swap the connection. Are you saying you need 5Hz on L? That's easy - just signal at 5Hz on L using DTR, then talk at 15625baud on K (TX)...
Last edited by Evo4Mad on Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Evo4Mad
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: New Zealand

PreviousNext

Return to Data Logging Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests