MC33190

Developer topics relating to hardware that interfaces PCs to ECUs

Moderator: Freon

MC33190

Postby fabrik8 » Sun May 22, 2005 7:06 pm

Does anyone have schematics based on MC33199 instead of optos and transistors? This may be a very simple circuit, but I can't find any app schematics to verify anything. I'm making a micro interface, and don't need RS232 at all, so I'd rather try out the 33199, or it's 33290 replacement(without the L line). Is there any reason why the interface has to be optoisolated? If a microcontroller is using the same power supply as the ECU, why would isolation matter at all?

Will this setup (or any standard 232-ISO9141 interface) work for SSM use?

I'm very new to OBD2, please excuse my ignorance.
fabrik8

Postby oman » Mon May 23, 2005 8:50 am

http://faq.ford77.ru/engine/ image/com_eec/adp_tk.png

Here's a mirror as that site seems to go down alot.
http://mongo.ducker.org/~oman/adp_tk.png

You can easily adapt that to the 33290 by just not worrying about the extra pins that don't appear on the chip. The 33290 is extremely straightforward to use. These interfaces work with more usb-serial converters than the optoisolated ones do because they don't expect the rs-232 side to actually power anything. They do tend to be slightly more expensive to build though.
oman

Postby sk_uk » Sun May 29, 2005 1:28 pm

Try http://www.skpang.co.uk/highspeed-iso9141.htm
Based on the MC33290D and MAX232
sk_uk

Postby fabrik8 » Sun May 29, 2005 7:14 pm

Great, thanks for the help, that's exactly the type of example I was looking for.. But will it do SSM?

Does not using the L-line matter? I see it's not used, and I know the 33290 has no provision for it, so does communication still work without it?
fabrik8

Postby richh » Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:33 am

fabrik8 wrote:Great, thanks for the help, that's exactly the type of example I was looking for.. But will it do SSM?