Requirements for ECU tuning

User topics relating to software that provides a tuning UI to alter ECU code and data

Moderator: Freon

Requirements for ECU tuning

Postby shail2k4 » Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:42 am

Hi all,

I am new to the concept of "ECU Remapping". I am aware with the serial programming techniques.

For the ecu remapping i have gone through some literatures available over internet, but i am having some confusions listed as under.

1. The ECU must be open for remapping. -- what is that?
2. For remapping, "unclocking an ecu" is mendatory. -- what is that?
3. Is it possible to remap the data values inside an ecu without touching its software program with the serial programming techniques?
4. What is the structure of the data values stored in ecu? How can i remap the data?
5. Are there any commands to read and write data from/to ecu? If yes then is there any technical document available for that?
6. What are the hardwares required for remaping through serial connectivity?

thanx for any kind of help.

Regards,
shail2k4
shail2k4

Postby Freon » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:01 pm

We are pulling down the entire embedded flash ROM image from the ECU's microchip. To tune, you read out the image, modify it, then flash it back. This is all handled by the tactrix cable and ECUflash. The details are not terribly important if you are getting started. Basically, there is already some embedded flash utility code in the ECU and ECUflash talks to it and initiates a sequence to put the CPU into a flash mode (along with using some external connections to enable the flash mode).

There are technical documents available for the microchips we are modifying. The 32bit drive-by-wire cars use the Renesas SH-2 7055 and 7058. You can download the technical manuals for free from Renesas's website. The 16bit ECU is an HC16, but some are a special version. You can find technical documents for similar models, but maybe not the exact chip in your ECU.