06 map on 07 wrx?

User topics relating to software that provides a tuning UI to alter ECU code and data

Moderator: Freon

06 map on 07 wrx?

Postby loki12487 » Wed Mar 28, 2007 1:56 pm

just wondering if anyone knows if the maps for the 06 wrx will work with the 07 wrx. usin open ecu program. i read some where that you could use the 06 map on a 07. wanted to get a 2nd opinion cause im new to the whole loading maps thing. any help is appreciated. thanks
loki12487

Postby Freon » Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:27 am

You definitely should never attempt to flash a whole image from one year car to another. To be safe (i.e. unless you REALLY know what you're doing), you should always read YOUR car's ROM image, back it up, and modify and use that to tune. Never try to use your friend's ROM.

The 07 Imprezas seem to have new coding and tuning methodology. I do not think you could even copy and paste one map at a time over. Some of the maps are different sizes, so they wouldn't fit to start. Also, the compensations are often located in different maps. There is less IAT vs airflow 3D map compensation, but more compensations in the 2D coolant and IAT timing compensation maps. The maps are all built to work together, so you can't expect to get lucky and get a car running well by trying to copy and paste maps from a different tune and car. Remember your tuning software doesn't (and never will) show 100% of all the maps in the ECU.

It's always best to just read your car's ROM image out and use that to tune and reflash. A lot can go wrong if you don't.
Freon

Postby fdt » Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:53 am

slightly off topic but does anyone know if i can flash a my02 (USDM) map onto a my01 (adm) ecu? i'm assuming that the my02 US spec is equivalent to the Aus spec my01 (first of the bugeye shape)

More specifically i'm referring to the XPT map which is based of a my02 USDM model.

cheers
fred
fdt

Postby loki12487 » Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:14 pm