Sick WRX owner in search of Help

User topics relating to software that logs data from ECUs

Moderator: Freon

Sick WRX owner in search of Help

Postby AgentH » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:47 am

Hi everyone. Noob here. I'm trying to diagnose what is wrong with my 02 WRX and could use some help or direction.

I can log no problem with the data logger. However, I have no idea what I should log or how to read the numbers when I do the logging.

Where can I go w/my log results to get some help?

Car still kinda cold
ECU Cold Log 1
Car warm, Fuel cut experienced in 1st I think
ECU warm Log 1
ECU warm Log 2
ECU warm Log 3
AgentH

Re: Sick WRX owner in search of Help

Postby Jon [in CT] » Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:12 pm

AgentH wrote:I'm trying to diagnose what is wrong with my 02 WRX and could use some help or direction.
Can you throw us a clue about your problem's symptoms?
Jon [in CT]

Postby AgentH » Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:33 pm

Absolutly.
Won't boost above .05 MPa (7 psi) in any gear. Feels sluggish and will stutter and buck wildly if I try to floor it. Does not like to go above 6000 rpm. Not smooth acceleration in 2nd (you can feel it hesitate) when you push it. Idles fine and No CEL. Sometimes when it's already warm, I will go to accelerate and the engine seems like it's stuck. RPMs but boost seems to increase. I can't reproduce it when it does that, but all I have to do is floor it in any of the gears and it will buck harshly and eventually stall out.

power mods: Cobb Access Port, K&N air filter

Here's what I've done already:
-hit redline - till car jerked - by accident a few days prior to 1st sign of problems
-replace the fuel filter 12k ago - Got a new one, will put in this weekend
-replaced the sparks 6k ago (NGK copper) - Gaped to .03 or .028, I forget...
-Cleaned MAF yesterday w/CRC(?) MAF Cleaner
-Checked to see if brass pill is present in vacume line - it is.
-1/8" restrictor is in place too.
-used injector cleaner w/each oil change