OpenPort 1.3 works/OpenPort 1.0 does not work

OpenECU hardware design documents

Moderator: Freon

OpenPort 1.3 works/OpenPort 1.0 does not work

Postby MRF582 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:08 pm

I have a laptop which used to have a copy of ECuflash 1.27 on it. I uninstalled ECUflash 1.27. Also went into 'control panel' and uninstalled all instances of open port drivers. Then I installed ECUflash 1.29a which at first had trouble working with the OpenPort 1.3. So I went into 'device manager' and manuall 'updated' the drivers which were found on the computer itself after install of 1.29a.

So now OpenPort 1.3 works flawlessly. ECUexplorer works just fine. ECUflash is able to read/write.

Then I wanted to try it with my OpenPort 1.0 cable and it gets detected and drivers get installed for it just fine. ECUexplorer is able to read data. Opening up ECUflash also indicates that a "USB <--> Serial" is active in the bottom right corner of the screen. However when I try to read/write, an error message says "Couldn't communicate with OpenPort"

Why is it like this? I was under the impression that ECUflash 1.29a supports all OpenPorts from 1.0 to 1.3.

Help.
MRF582
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:25 am

Re: OpenPort 1.3 works/OpenPort 1.0 does not work

Postby Jon [in CT] » Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:08 am

MRF582 wrote:Then I wanted to try it with my OpenPort 1.0 cable and it gets detected and drivers get installed for it just fine.
If you let Windows find the drivers on its own when it detected the new OpenPort 1.0 cable, then you probably ended up with the wrong drivers. You should do what you did to get the drivers for the 1.3 cable installed (i.e. direct Windows to use the drivers in the EcuFlash folder).
Jon [in CT]
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 10:23 am

Re: OpenPort 1.3 works/OpenPort 1.0 does not work

Postby BoxerFan » Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:04 am

Anybody successfully pulled the ROM using the 1.0 cable?

ADM LGT 2.0 DBW
BoxerFan
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:56 am
Location: Southeast Asia (little red dot)

Postby Freon » Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:52 pm

The 1.0 cable will not work on DBW models.
Freon
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Postby Evo4Mad » Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:17 pm

It is a new bug with EcuFlash v1.30 I too have this problem,

http://forums.openecu.org/viewtopic.php?p=13251#13251
Evo4Mad
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby BoxerFan » Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:42 am

Freon wrote:The 1.0 cable will not work on DBW models.


Any reason why?

I thought the 1.0 cable should be able to pull(read) the ROM, but not flash(write).
BoxerFan
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:56 am
Location: Southeast Asia (little red dot)

Postby Freon » Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:29 pm

The 1.0 cable was designed well before the DBW models were supported. The 1.2 was the first cable that could flash the SH2-based 32bit, DBW ECU if I remember correctly.

I could not give you the exact technical reason. If you dig real hard on this forum you might find a better explanation. We started flashing the DBW models around the end of 2005 or Jan/Feb 2006.

I'm not sure if it will read or not, but I tend to think not. It should log just fine.
Freon
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Postby MRF582 » Wed Dec 12, 2007 3:04 pm

I was trying to use a 1.0 cable on the 2.0L WRX models (not-DBW). I finally gave up and ordered a 1.3U cable... The latest version that will work with the 1.0 cable is ECUflash 1.29a.
MRF582
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:25 am


Return to OpenECU Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest