Hardwire usb cable to ecu?

User topics relating to hardware that interfaces PCs to ECUs

Moderator: Freon

Hardwire usb cable to ecu?

Postby tekgnosis » Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:39 am

rather than plug the tactrix cable in everytime i want to tune or log, is there a way that I can just splice into the ecu wires for the obdii port and have a connector under the glove box?

this option is a lot cleaner, and means I don't have to have the cable running across my lap.

i've looked at the old schematic that was posted...i'm no expert with circuits, but would it be possible to just build my own module and splice it into the ecu? it looks like the majority of the board is for converting the signal from serial to usb. can i build my own board instead of buying the tactrix cable?

i've searched up and down, but found no answer. :(
tekgnosis

Postby Freon » Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:10 am

I'm not sure how much simpler the board would be if you were interfacing to a physical serial port on your PC. From what I understand it isn't just splicing wires directly to an RS232 DB9 cable.

Why not just unscrew your OBD connector, plug in your Openport cable, tape them together, and tuck the bundle up under the dash with some zip ties? This seems to be a much smarter idea. You can put it back if you want, but it is still out of the way. You can route the cable to the glove box or whatever you want.
Freon

Postby tekgnosis » Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:17 am

I agree that there are easier ways :)

For simplicity's sake, I was just wanting to tap into the wires and get away with not having to buy the cable.

I'll have to dig deeper into the cable to make sure it's just converting the signal from rs232 into usb. I believe there was an extra 12V pin or something along those lines.